Women of Science Scholarship Competition

Six Tri-County students participated in the Women of Science scholarship competition at Bedford High School on Saturday, December 8. The 16th run of this annual event drew 38 teams from high schools in eastern Massachusetts. The event was sponsored by Millipore, Sigma, Thermo Fisher Scientific, the University of Massachusetts-Lowell, the Bedford Education Association, and the Bedford Public Schools.  

Tri-County participants, from left to right: 
Kayla Cantara, a junior from North Attleboro
Corinne Blasetti, a senior from North Attleboro
Kaitlyn Jones, a senior from Plainville
Sabrina Howarth, a senior from Seekonk
Hannah Davis, a junior from Franklin
Emily Foley, a junior from North Attleboro  

The students competed in 4 science and engineering events.  All events involved knowledge based in the areas of biology, chemistry, engineering, environmental science, math, and physics.  Tri-County students competed in two teams of three.

While the event encouraged friendly competition, its core goal was to increase female interest in science-related fields and to celebrate women in science.